Just minutes before the transfer deadline Moussa Sissoko signed for Tottenham in one of the most exhilarating transfer sagas in the clubs recent history.

It had seemed that the Frenchman was destined for a move to Everton – who had reportedly set up their club medical room ready for his arrival. However with the deadline swiftly approaching, Tottenham frantically matched Everton’s bid. In a shocking turn of events the attacking midfielder put pen to paper with the North London side with less than an hour of the transfer window remaining.

He signed a five year contract in a deal estimated to be worth around £30m, making him one of Tottenham’s three deadline day signings, with winger Georges-Kevin N’Koudou and goalkeeper Pau Lopez also sealing their moves to Tottenham.

In a recent interview with the club’s official website, Sissoko spoke of his pride to sign for Spurs. “I am very happy, very proud to be here. I am in the prime of my career and I want to play for a big team, I have the chance now with Tottenham Hotspur.”

Sissoko also revealed that it was Tottenham’s Champions League factor that made his decision to choose Spurs over Everton an easy one. “I have said a lot of times that I want to play in the Champions League so that is one of the reasons why I came here. I am looking forward to it and I hope we will do well in the Premier League and in the Champions League.”

It’s unclear as to whether he’ll be guaranteed a starting place within Mauricio Pochettino’s side, however the £30m man has insisted that he’s eager to fight for the club. “I will fight every day at the training ground and then in the games and give my best for this team. I am here at an amazing place with amazing fans and an amazing manager so everything is good. It is a dream come true and I am very happy.”

Following the completion of his transfer to Tottenham, Sissoko returned to international duty with France, where he is likely to feature in their friendly against Italy tonight.

Follow the author on Twitter.

SISSOKO HD

 

Leave a Reply

