Tottenham captain Hugo Lloris insists he had not thought about leaving the club this summer.

Hugo Lloris has told French newspaper L’Équipe that his heart and ambitions lie with Tottenham Hotspur, and following a very successful season he had no doubt as to whether he’d stay or not. When asked if his phone had been buzzing with transfer offers during the summer the Frenchman replied: “I turned it off. There have been rumours of my departure for many summers.”

“From the moment we reached our goal, in spring, my mind was made up. I’ve never asked myself the question. I knew I would stay.”

Lloris was also keen to emphasise the importance of Mauricio Pochettino, having already hinted that the Argentine’s contract extension may lead him to do the same. “I am in a project which started really with Pochettino. The first two seasons, yes, it didn’t happen as I wished collectively, but the challenges have helped me make my way. They saw that they could count on me.”

Following a fantastic season, the Spurs captain will lead his team out into the Champions League for the very first time, something he’s delighted to be a part of. “It is an indescribable competition. This is where you have to be, and where you want to be.”

Tottenham look to get their Champions League campaign underway with high spirits having drawn CSKA Moscow, Bayern Leverkusen and AS Monaco in Group E. They’ll play their opening fixture at Wembley on Wednesday, 14 September against a Monaco side who featured in their Europa League group last season.

Follow the author on Twitter.

tottenham-495336

Leave a Reply

