Ever since purchasing the Spaniard 6 months ago for £26m, Roberto Soldado has failed to settle into the physicality of the Premier League. The 28 year old striker has not lived up to the expectations that were expected of him from the Tottenham faithful.

From a total of 26 games, he has only managed to find the target on 13 occasions. As you might be aware, most of Soldado’s goals have come from the penalty spot. He has only found the net once in Premier League from open play, which came against Aston Villa at Villa Park. His other four goals have come from the penalty spot – which has rather disappointed, arguably, everyone who supports Tottenham Hotspur. Everyone expected a lot more from the near £30m man – including myself! You would expect a lot more goals from a player who destroyed most teams in the La Liga last year.

Personally, I’ve kept my faith in Roberto Soldado in every minute he has kicked the ball for us. However, I am slowly beginning to lose my faith in him. We have given him plenty of time to settle into life in England, and into the Premier League, but he still hasn’t managed to find his feet. That has really disappointed me, and was ultimately a punch in the face for me, as I stood by his side and defended him when others criticised him. I still do have that little bit of faith in him, hopefully he can repay my faith in him, and prove his critics wrong.

Will Roberto Soldado ever come good? Will he become the prolific striker that we are craving for? Will he eventually live up to his expectations if he is given a bit more time? Leave your thoughts below in the comments section or tweet me on my Twitter account.

4312233-1.jpg

One thought on “Is Soldado The Man?

  1. I hope Soldado isn’t another plating ruined by Spurs’s mismanagement (like Holtby it seems). At the beginning Soldado was quite lucky, I recall him hitting the pasts/bar in games against Newcastle, Cardiff and Norwich multiple times including a very cheeky back heel but now he’s so low on confidence. If given some more time AND is managed well he will come good for us….. I hope =P

Leave a Reply

